Players Who Won t20 Man Of The Match In Their Debut Match

Debuts are an important part of cricket’s history, as they are a way to recognize the achievements of players who have worked hard to reach the highest level of the sport. A debut match also marks the start of a player’s career and can be a moment of great pride for the player and their family and friends. It is a moment that will be remembered for years to come. Let’s have look at the players who made their debut match memorable by winning the Man Of The Match honours in their Debut Match and some got place in icc batsmen ranking.

Dinesh Karthik– At his maiden international T20 match, which India played against South Africa in December 2006, Dinesh Karthik was named Man of the Match. India faced the Africans in a 20-over match for the first time in the game’s history, and they prevailed only on the very last ball. With just one ball left, the Men in Blue successfully chased down South Africa’s 126-run goal, and Karthik, who was making his T20 debut that day, was adjudged to be the most fashionable Indian player. He was not struck during his 31 runs off of 28 balls of scoring. In his first T20 game, Karthik received the player of the match award.

 On December 1, 2006, this match was played in Johannesburg. The Indian squad was currently on assignment in Africa. India and South Africa engaged in four ODIs before the T20. After South Africa defeated England 3-0 in the ODI series, India and the African squad were to face off in the lone T20 match. Leading the Indian platoon onto the battlefield was Virender Sehwag. First off, South Africa scored 126 for nine in 20 overs. India then completed the task in 19.5 overs for four slats. Dinesh Karthik hit three fours and a six as he amassed an unbeaten 31 off 28 balls.

 Pragyan Ojha-On June 6, 2009, against Bangladesh, former Indian legging Pragyan Ojha made his T20I debut in Indian uniform. The Men in Blue gave the Bangla Barracuda a massive 180-run score to defend. In the end, they fell short of that goal because Bangladesh’s response to the Indian innings only produced 155 runs. 

Pragyan Ojha, the 33-year-old received the “Man of the Match” award for his outstanding performance, which enabled India to defeat their neighbours. Pragyan Ojha, a former Indian incentive, started his T20I career on the prestigious platform of the ICC T20 World Cup. The Indian T20I jersey was removed by Ojha.

Against Bangladesh in a T20 World Cup 2009 group stage match, Ojha donned the Indian T20I jersey for the first time. India batted first but struggled, scoring 180/5 in 20 overs. With his four-gate haul in the second innings, Pragyan Ojha contributed to India’s 25-run victory. Ojha only allowed 21 runs in his four overs while dismissing Mashrafe Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, and Junaid Siddique.

 Subramaniam Badrinath– Subramaniam Badrinath was chosen for the Indian T20 team for the 2011 West Indies tour after acclaiming everyone with his performances in the fourth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Badrinath struck 43 runs off 37 balls to help India defeat the hosts by 16 runs in the lone T20I match between these two brigades. Badrinath received the Match of the Match award for his efforts in his debut. It was Badrinath’s first and last T20I appearance for the Indian squad, which is astonishing.

 Axar Patel- Axar Patel is another Indian player who won Man of the Match honors in their first T20I. On July 17, 2015, he played against Zimbabwe, and the Indian platoon scored 178 runs during their innings despite losing five lattices. Zimbabwe, who wanted to score a lot of runs overall, could only manage 124 in their allotted 20 overs. Axar Patel scored three runs while allowing only 17 runs to be scored. He aided India in humiliating Zimbabwe as a result, earning him the title of Man of the Match on his debut. Axar Patel is a versatile player who has primarily bowled for the Indian squad. He was chosen Man of the Match for his T20I debut. He was chosen Man of the Match for his outstanding performance of 3/17 against Zimbabwe in his first T20I. In a bilateral series game in Harare, India had set their opposing African team with a goal of 179 runs. Patel bowled four useful overs, giving up just 17 runs while ejecting Sikandar Raza, Elton Chigumbura, and Hamilton Masakadza.

 Barinder Sran– Barinder Sran, who made his debut for the Men in Blue on June 20, 2016, was another Indian player who won the Man of the Match award on his T20I debut against Zimbabwe. With his assistance, India was able to dismiss the opposition platoon for just 99 runs in 13.1 overs without losing a single wicket. Sran only allowed ten runs in his four overs while accumulating four lattices.

 Although he has recently been referred to as the most fashionable Indian footballer, the career of the 27-year-old has always been in a gloomy spiral. Barinder Sran was another Indian bowler to win Man of the Match honours during his T20I debut against Zimbabwe. On his debut, the left-arm leader scooped up four lattices.

 Navdeep Saini– The first Indian player to receive a “Man of the Match” honour in a T20I was Navdeep Saini. He achieved this feat on August 3rd, 2019, against the West Indies. Saini collected three lattices throughout his four-over performance, surrendering just 17 runs, aiding the Indian squad in limiting the West Indies to a total of 95 runs. 

With the loss of six lattices, they completed the goal’s pursuit in 17.2 overs. The only Indian bowler to win Man of the Match on his T20I debut while playing against a T20 World Cup champion is Navdeep Saini, a fast bowler from Haryana. Saini accomplished the feat in 2019 against the West Indies. 

These cricketing heroes marked a place for themselves in their Debut match itself.

Know all about cricket news and updates at CBTF news. 

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF betting. 

Get the updated expert betting tips at

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket and betting tips, and casino tips to win big with expert opinions at

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:Sports